Now accepting Telehealth appointments. Schedule a virtual visit.

Testimonials & Reviews

4.99/5

Foot & Ankle Center of Iowa

Podiatrists & Foot and Ankle Surgeons located in Ankeny, IA

70 total reviews

Foot & Ankle Center of Iowa always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 70 reviews with an average rating of 4.99 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Foot & Ankle Center of Iowa below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Stacey J.
Submitted 05/05/20
I saw Dr.P Dayton about two weeks ago, in the Middle of the pandemic which I was so grateful someone would see me, my pain was unbearable.
Keri M.
Submitted 04/30/20
My 15 year old daughter had Lapiplasty and hammer toe correction on both feet, 11 weeks apart. Our experience with Dr. Dayton and his staff, was remarkable! They truly care about their patients! They did a wonderful job answering all of our questions, and easing her fears. Her surgery and recovery were textbook, with little to no pain, and she loves the look and feel of her “new” feet! Thank you Dr. Dayton and staff, for making our experience a great one! You are the best around!
Laura R.
Submitted 04/30/20
I had Dr. Paul Dayton perform the 3D Lapiplasty surgery. I have had bunions for over 25 years and when I heard about the new procedure from a friend I was excited to finally have the surgery. I researched because I wanted to go to the best doctor that knew the new technique and found Dr. Dayton. My surgery went perfect. I was back at a desk job in a few days. The staff was wonderful and answered all my concerns and questions. They helped me with suggestions for my scarring that I can hardly see now. I was so happy with how little pain that I had, I went ahead and had my other foot done 8 weeks later. I am so glad that I finally have my bunions gone. Thanks to Dr. Dayton and his wonderful staff. You are all amazing and caring people.
Kathy F.
Submitted 04/29/20
About 18 months ago, I had a conversation with my doctor about my bunions. We were both unsure since most everyone complained how painful and what a long process bunion surgery seemed to be. But to my surprise, this time when I mentioned the pain in my feet my health care provider suggested I check out the Foot and Ankle Center of Iowa, they were doing a new procedure called Lapiplasty, that might be a good fit for me. As it turned out it was, I had surgery on my Right foot in February, was able to walk in a boot after 3-4 days, and was able to return to work within a couple of weeks. I was able to have the procedure on my left foot in April. By June we were able to go on vacation to the Smoky Mountains and I was able to walk in my tennis shoes for the trip. Putting the bones back in place changed the way I walked on my feet and made a pedicure look a lot better. Now, a year later, the scars are faded, the feet look so much better and I am able to walk on my "new" feet not worrying about what shoes can I wear, now I can go for what shoes I want to wear. Thank you to the Dayton Docs and the staff at the Foot and Ankle Center of Iowa.
Lisa S.
Submitted 04/28/20
From initial phone call to set up consultation to surgery to follow up appointments, I was always treated with respect and had my questions answered thoroughly. The Dr. And his staff are very informative and receptive to questions. I had a very complicated foot issue that took a major surgery and had a lengthy yet successful recovery. For all of the work I had done on my foot I am pleased to be where I am at with being able to walk at length in my shoes 3 months post op. I would and actually have recommended this provider and procedure to others living with foot pain or problems that need resolved with their feet so they can be active again.
Clista R.
Submitted 04/28/20
From the moment I walked in the door at the clinic I was treated like family. The staff have all went above and beyond to make sure I was given the best care and have helped answer any questions. My surgery went great, I only took Tylenol for pain relief and not only does my foot look better but now it FEELS better too! I was able to return to work (a job that requires me to stand and walk for 8 hours a day) within a month of my surgery, and my only regret is that I didn’t have the surgery done sooner! Thank you all for your great care!
Paula B.
Submitted 04/27/20
Beginning with my first visit, I was highly impressed with the staff, their knowledge and the care they put into everything they do. Dr. Paul performed a revision surgery on failed bunionectomy. He removed the previously implanted hardware, fused the joint correctly and performed bone graft to lengthen my toe. Prior to surgery, I received an abundance of highly detailed information and thorough preparation that enabled me to not have to take any prescription pain killers post-surgery. I feel I have been an equal partner in my treatment and recovery and that the entire team has become an extension of my own family.
Maura M.
Submitted 04/27/20
My daughter Larissa came to see Drs. Dayton from a recommendation of one of their neighbors. She advised us that both doctors were very knowledgeable on bunion surgery so we decided to come to the Foot and Ankle Clinic for a second opinion. Larissa had taylor’s bunions on both of her feet that were causing her pain. After her first meeting with Dr. Mindi Dayton, Larissa immediately told me this was who she wanted to do her surgery. Dr. Dayton explained exactly what was happening with her foot and how she would be able to correct it. She went into detail about what exactly she was going to do, how long her recovery would last, and any possible complications. As Mom, it was hard to hear, but for Larissa it was great to be told exactly what was going to happen and how long she might be out activities. Larissa had her first surgery at the end of October and things couldn’t have gone better. The staff at both the Foot and Ankle Clinic and Luthern Hospital (the site for her surgery) were amazing. Larissa does not love needles so she was getting very anxious about the IV (not so much about the actual procedure just the IV). The nurses did a great job in calming her nerves as well as giving her enough information to make her feel more in control. The surgery went smooth and we were out of there before I even knew it. Her post-op appointment had a little rough patch as she passed out in the waiting room as we were leaving from her appointment. That was probably the worst part of both of her surgeries for me! But again the staff and Dr. Paul Dayton were wonderful with her. One nurse even made her a sandwich from her own lunch supply! After speaking with Dr. Mindi Dayton we decided to piggyback her other foot and did it just 12 weeks after her first. We were amazed that just 12 weeks after fixing her left foot we could get her right foot done and get her back to the activites she loves sooner. Doing both feet close together was probably the best decision we made, and I am very greatful that Dr. Dayton suggested it. It was a long almost 5 months for Larissa being in a boot on one foot then the other, but in the end it was the best decision. Larissa is now fully healed and back to her activities. She no longer has to deal with sore and inflamed feet and is excited to get back to the sports and activites that she was missing. We would recommend Dr. Paul and Mindi Dayton to anyone, and we have! We have told everyone how awesome the staff is and what an amazing job they did not only with Larissa’s surgeries but taking care of her mentally and emotionally. All the staff at Ankeny Foot and Ankle clinic are amazing compassionate people. I am so glad we were referred to this clinic. Although I hope that we don’t need their services in the future, I would not hesitate to go back again.
Mary G.
Submitted 04/27/20
After years of running I developed painful arthritis in the big toe joint on both feet. I had already met with several other surgeons and was not prepared for the long recovery they said it would take. I heard from a friend that she had been to Foot & Ankle Center of Iowa for bunion surgery. She highly recommended I check them out; that they treat other foot problems as well, and the recovery time was shorter than she thought it would be. I scheduled an appointment with Dr. Mindy for a consultation. While in the waiting room, I watched a video of Dr. Paul explaining the surgery and the recovery process. I was intrigued by what I had seen and heard. After meeting with Dr. Mindy, I was ready to have the surgery. I had Big Toe Joint Fusion and 2nd Toe Hammer toe surgery on Oct. 10, 2019, and my 2nd Big Toe Joint Fusion surgery on Dec. 18, 2019. I was amazed to be wearing a boot on the 5th day after surgery! It has been 4 months since my last surgery, and I am now running and walking and could not be happier with my experience! I highly recommend Foot & Ankle Center of Iowa to anyone with foot problems!
NICOLE F.
Submitted 04/24/20
Personable. Professional. Patient. From the moment I walked in the door, I felt welcome and at ease. Dr. Paul Dayton was wonderful at explaining my condition and was so gracious with how he handled all of my questions!